Gold Sponsor
Gold Sponsor
Field Trip Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Bronze Sponsor
Bronze Sponsor
Conference Proceedings
Name Badge Sponsor

Invitation to Participate

On behalf of the Organising Committee we invite you to attend the 7th International Nitrogen Initiative Conference (INI2016).

The conference’s over-arching theme – SOLUTIONS TO IMPROVE NITROGEN USE EFFICIENCY FOR THE WORLD – aims to address “The Nutrient Nexus” of reducing nutrient losses while producing food and energy for all of our human family.

The conference venue is central to the city and there is a great range of accommodation and dining options all within walking distance.

We look forward to seeing you in Melbourne in December, 2016.

Cameron Gourley.                              deli-chen

Dr Cameron Gourley               Professor Deli Chen
Conference Secretary                  Conference Chair

Solutions to improve nitrogen use efficiency for the world


  1. Nitrogen at global and regional scales
  2. Biological nitrogen fixation
  3. Improving fertiliser efficiency
  4. Crop-nitrogen interactions
  5. Livestock and nitrogen
  6. Nitrogen  contamination of the environment
  7. New ways to measure nitrogen
  8. Nitrogen and the atmosphere
  9. Nitrogen accounting
  10. Nitrogen and the community

Promote INI 2016

Download the following promotional flyers to print out and put up at your workplace or to give to a colleague.

A4 Poster
A3 Poster

Keynote Speakers

The INI 2016 keynote speakers have been confirmed; for more information and biographies please click here.

Prof. Achim Dobermann

Dobermann_2015b 300x300

Prof. Oene Oenema

Oene Oenema

Dr Wilfried Winiwarter


Prof. James Galloway


Dr John Angus

angus-john 120x135

Dr Cecile de Klein

Cecile de Klein photo Dec 2015

Dr Patrick Heffer

photo PH 300x300

Dr Cargele Masso


Prof. Peter Grace 

peter grace

Dr Clifford Snyder

Dr. Clifford S

Prof. David Pannell

David Pannel

Prof. Michael Bell

mike bell

Prof. Mark Sutton

Mark Sutton

Prof. Ian Chubb


Mr Simon Upton

Simon Upton

Dr J.K Ladha

jk ladha

Dr Britta Schaffelke


Prof. Xuejun Liu

Liu XJ

Prof. Xiaoyuan Yan


Organising Committee

Click here to read biographies of the Organising Committee members.

  • Professor Deli Chen
    The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Dr Cameron Gourley
    Victorian State Government, Australia
  • Dr Robert Norton
    International Plant Nutrition Institute, Australia
  • Professor Richard Eckard
    Primary Industries Climate Challenge Centre, Australia
  • Dr John Angus
    Farmer and CSIRO, Australia
Committee Reports Portal
Password required.

Local Advisory Committee

Click here to read biographies of the Local Advisory Committee members.

  • Professor Richard Bell
    Murdoch University, Australia
  • Dr Michael Crawford
    Victorian State Government, Australia
  • Mr Nick Drew
    Fertilizer Australia, Australia
  • Dr Robert Edis
    Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research, Australia
  • Professor Peter  Grace
    Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • Ms Alice Hall
    CSIRO Publications, Australia
  • Professor Mike Hedley
    Massey University, New Zealand
  • Dr Phillip Mladenov
    New Zealand Fertilizer Association, New Zealand
  • Dr Mark Peoples
    CSIRO Plant Industry, Australia

International Advisory Committee

Click here to read biographies of the International Advisory Committee members.

  • Professor Tapan Adhya
    Central Rice Research Institute, India
  • Dr Cecile de Klein
    AgResearch, New Zealand
  • Professor James Galloway
    University of VirginiaUnited States of America
  • Dr Patrick Heffer
    International Fertilizer Industry, France
  • Dr Kevin Hicks
    Stockholm Environment Institute, United Kingdom
  • Dr Cargele Masso
    International Institute of Tropical Agriculture, Kenya